India will host the final of the 2011 World Cup with the opening ceremony to be held in Bangladesh, a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official said on Saturday.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has awarded the hosting rights to India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

“It has been decided in a meeting of all four boards in London that all four should evenly play a part in hosting major events of the tournament,” PCB Director Abbas Zaidi told Reuters.

“It is decided that India will host the final while the semi-finals would be held in Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Bangladesh has been given the opening ceremony.”

India is due to host 22 matches, with Pakistan holding 16, Sri Lanka nine and Bangladesh six.

The 2007 World Cup will be held in West Indies.

Read the full story below:

Cricinfo – India to host 2011 World Cup final



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment